## Aurora Township Community Mental Health 708 Board Meeting Monday, June 4, 2018

## **MINUTES**

President John Intrain called the regular meeting of the Aurora Township Mental Health 708 Board to order at 7:00 PM on Monday, June 4, 2018 at the INC Board offices.

Members Present: Robert Borchert, John Intrain, David Moore, Christine Weber

Members Absent: Joel Grámirez, Bill Harding, Shirley Ayers Williams

Also present: Jerry Murphy, INC Board

Dalila Alegria, INC Board

President Intrain asked for approval of the minutes of the February 12, 2018 meeting. Upon a motion by David Moore and second by Rob Borchert, the minutes were unanimously approved.

Under the Staff Report, Operations Manager Dalila Alegria reported on the INC Board finances for the period July 1, 2017, through April 30, 2018. Revenues are above budget due to additional 708 tax money received than originally budgeted. Expenses are under budget by \$37,084.07. Overall, Net Income is \$232,738.00, which is \$48,834.00 over budget.

Alegria reviewed the unaudited client statistics for July 1 through April 30,2018. She reported that 5,874 Aurora Township residents received 106,834 units of service for that period. She also presented the building statistics for July 1 through April 30, 2018, reporting that 208 Aurora residents received 26,937 units of service.

Jerry Murphy, Executive Director, reviewed the 2017 Tax Extension Report. He reported that there is an increase of approximately \$53,000 for use in 2018-2019 with a 2.1% CPI. Murphy presented the preliminary budget that was approved by the INC Board at last month's meeting.

Murphy presented the approved 2018-2019 Allocations. Murphy reviewed the process used by the Program Committee and the different factors considered in coming to its recommendations.

Alegria shared the recipients of the Lyle E. Oncken Community Service Award, Lynn O'Shea and Greg Watson. Jerry presented Lynn with her award at AID's Annual Meeting on May 16 and presented Greg with his award at his retirement party on June  $1^{st}$  at TCFS.

Alegria also asked for input from the board as to what they'd like to see on the INC Board website. Ideas will be shared as to how it can be more user friendly and accessible to 708 board members.

Under New Business, Jerry Murphy shared the recommendation from the INC Board to the Aurora Township 708 Board for the proposed 2018 mental health tax levy. The increase would be for the 2.1% Consumer Price Index (CPI) allowed under the tax cap, plus any additional levy allowed due to new construction. Borchert made the motion to accept the recommendation for the increase to the township board. The motion was seconded by Christine Weber and passed unanimously on a voice vote. Staff will forward the recommendation to Supervisor Catching.

Alegria collected the Conflict of Interest forms from all board members present.

Alegria presented the 708 Board with a proposed meeting schedule for 2018-19. Moore made the motion to accept the schedule as proposed. The motion was seconded by Borchert and passed unanimously on a voice vote.

Murphy reported that three board members, Robert Borchert, Christine Weber and Shirley Ayers Williams, had a term expiring on June 30, 2018. Borchert and Weber graciously agreed to be re-appointed to another four-year term. The request for re-appointment will be sent to Supervisor Catching.

Murphy explained that the reason the 2018-19 INC Board meeting schedule was included in the 708 board packet is because the INC Board is asking 708 board members to attend an INC Board meeting.

Likewise, Alegria also invited 708 board members to volunteer to participate in one of two different INC Board committees. Descriptions of each committee were discussed and interested board members should contact staff.

Murphy noted that due to the passing of a board member, there is a vacancy on the INC Board and would like to fill by new fiscal year in July.

There being no further business to come before the Board, the meeting was adjourned on a motion by Borchert, second by Weber and a unanimous vote at 7:44 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Joel Grámirez, Secretary